FIRST AIRED: September 28, 2017

Nice work! Enjoy the show!


You’re busy. We get it.

Stay on top of the news with our Editor’s Picks newsletter.

US Edition
Intl. Edition
Unsubscribe at any time. One click, it’s gone.

Thanks for signing up!



>> Okay, and we will go inside to meet her.>> With the judges poised to pick the next Nobel Peace Prize winner, recent events are a reminder that a gold medal is not always clean cut.>>
>> Myanmar's leader, Aung San Suu Kyi won the award in 1991 for her non-violent struggle for democracy Now she's in the spotlight for not sufficiently condemning mass killings.
Reuters Gladys in Oslo where the prize is awarded says, it's a cautionary tale for 2017 nominees.>> In recent times it's been the Myanmar leader Aung San Suu Kyi who has disappointed as a Nobel peace prize laureate particularly in the way she has answered the criticism regarding violence perpetrated against Rohingya civilians in Rakhine State in Myanmar.
>> Suu Kyi is by no means alone. With an award often comes high expectations, meaning saints can easily be turned into sinners. Mother Teresa, the 1974 winner was later critiqued in medical circles for not offering strong pain killers to dying patients. Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev was awarded the prize in 1990 for his role in bringing the cold war to a peaceful end, prevents tanks in 1991 to try to stop the independence of the Baltic States.
rt of the issue, many are chosen while still in the formative years of their lives. And there could be controversy on the horizon for the 2017 nominations. Those involved in the 2015 Iran nuclear deal are being talked about as potential winners including the Iranian foreign minister.>> It was an award to them.
It will be a rebuke towards US President Donald Trump because he has often condemned the deal as a terrible deal that the US should never have done.>> Some 318 people and organizations are nominated for this year's prize. Syria's White Helmets and Pope Francis are among those in contention.
>> The chosen one will take home prize money worth $1.1 million and perhaps the added weight of new expectations.>>