FIRST AIRED: May 23, 2016

Nice work! Enjoy the show!


You’re busy. We get it.

Stay on top of the news with our Editor’s Picks newsletter.

US Edition
Intl. Edition
Unsubscribe at any time. One click, it’s gone.

Thanks for signing up!



>> The Palme d'or goes to I, Daniel Blake.>> British director Ken Loach winning the Palme d'or at Sunday's closing ceremony, one of the many surprises taking place this year at Cannes, the festival known for its unpredictability. What the audiences boo, the critics love. What the critics thrash, the juries praise.
But this year everyone seemed to agree on the twisted German comedy, Toni Erdmann as the very best of the festival.
But French glamour and flatulence don't usually go hand in hand. So the Palme d'or went the other way, as did the grand prix in the jury prize.
The first one going to Canadian director Xavier Dolan for his It's Only the End of the World, and the second for the Shia Lebouff starred drama, American Honey, both of which got an absolute thrashing from critics. The LA Time's Justin Chang calling the jury's decision a political statement.
>> The European Union is a neo-liberal project.>> And Variety's Guy Lodge simply tweeting, it's time for me to get out of Cannes. But just when consensus seemed an almost impossible feature, enter Sean Penn's The Last Face. Booed by audiences, called ridiculous, pompous, neo-colonial, and disgusting by critics, pointed out as the probable cause behind Penn and Charlize Theron's breakup.
>> Well, I finished the film so it's not a discussion that I think I can be of any value to.>> And then there was Woody Allen opening the croisette to a wave of criticism. Accusations that he sexually abused his daughter, Dylan Farrow, resurfaced in an article written by her brother, made worse by a joke about rape from a French comedian during the opening ceremony.
And by Susan Sarandon, who stated she had nothing good to say about Woody Allen. The croisette is closed for now, but its winners and losers will echo, if not to eternity, then at least to next years Oscars.